8. Esperanza’s Studio

MAVIS: How much longer? I don’t mean to rush, but I’ve been trying to reach Dan all day and its not like him not to call me back. I’m worried.

ESPERANZA: We still need to finish the bottom of the skirt and the pants. Did you decide on which boots?

GILLIAN: I think so. Jacket feels great, thank you.

MAVIS GILLIAN ESPERANZA ZEIDA AT ESPERANZA STUDIO File May 27, 6 08 11 AM
Shown L-R: Mavis, Gillian, Esperanza, Aina, Ursula, Zeida

URSULA: Thank you for letting me have your vintage bikini! I’m into vintage and can’t believe you don’t want it!

GILLIAN: Glad you do! It is definitely not for me!

ESPERANZA: Zeida, we’re almost finished here and I’ll be right with you. Would you care for a glass of lemon water, tea, wine?

ZEIDA: I hope you don’t mind, but I asked my new publicist to meet me here. We were to meet at the Cafe, but there was a sign on the door; appeared to be construction inside.

ESPERANZA: Not at all; you know you are welcome any time.

ZEIDA: I see you’ve added a few more handbags to your metallics line. I always receive compliments on this one.

[KNOCK AT DOOR]

ASTRID: It’s open!

TARAH: Thank you! Thank you! Looks like a storm blowing in; the wind out there!

TARAH N ZEIDA AT ESPERANZAS File May 27, 5 17 39 AM

ZEIDA: You had no trouble finding the Studio, I take it?

TARAH: No problem once I found my way around all the TV news vans. They’re all just sitting there, like they’re waiting on something. What’s going on and why don’t I know about it?

TARAH AT ESPERANZAS File May 27, 5 22 13 AM

ESPERANZA: I only recently moved in to this studio; the outside sign is due for installation in the next few weeks or so. I’m a designer, not a retailer, so I am in no hurry for the sign; I don’t really need it. Wait, TV news vans? It’s been very quiet, actually. Nice, in fact.

ASTRID: You’re a publicist?

TARAH: Politics, if you can believe that.

ESPERANZA STUDIO GROUP File May 27, 5 29 48 AM
Shown L-R: Gillian, Esperanza, Aina, Zeida, Tarah, Astrid

ASTRID: Affiliations?

TARAH: Only when I absolutely have to.

GILLIAN: Roger that.

[ESPERANZA’S PHONE RINGS]

ESPERANZA: Design Studio, this is Esperanza. … Oh, yes, she’s here, do you want to — oh, sure, yes, I’ll let her know. Oh, Zeida is here; wants to know when the Cafe is opening. … Right, okay. Bye bye.

ZEIDA: Margeaux?

ESPERANZA: Yes, Rose is going to send out a tweet when the carpenters are finished. And Mavis? She said there were police asking for you. Didn’t say why.

MAVIS: What? Police?… Gillian, we have to go. Now.

GILLIAN: I don’t have pants yet.

MAVIS N GILLIAN AT ESPERANZA STUDIO File May 27, 4 53 14 AM

MAVIS: Gillian… we have to get to the jet and out of the country. Now. I have to find Dan.

GILLIAN: What? But —

[KNOCK AT THE DOOR]

ASTRID: It’s open!